bookish thoughts

april reading updates πŸ“–

Hello! Today I thought I’d talk about what I’ve been reading so far or what books I’ve managed to finish reading. I’ve wanted to make this post for a while now but I was waiting until I was done with Pachinko by Min Jin Lee which I did just yesterday and it has been…a very intense and emotional journey which means my thoughts are probably going to sound a little cluttered because I’m still and will always be thinking about this story. The rest of the books I’ve read so far have been slightly different in that, I started reading them just because I was curious and also needed something lighter.

Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

❝In life, there was so much insult and injury, and she had no choice but to collect what was hers.❞

This book is a multi-generational saga of a Korean family over time as they move to Japan and experience discrimination that affects the characters in more ways than one. Through a third person narrative, we see exactly how each person in this story feels, thinks, and what encourages their choices – be it right or wrong. It talks about the role of women when circumstances force them to make decisions they don’t want to make and how that in turn affects the way they see themselves and their worth.

❝With her sun-browned hands and dirty fingernails, she touched her uncombed hair. She didn’t want him to see her this way. It occurred to her that she would never be lovely again.❞

This book also deals with loss and grief in such a real way that it leaves you feeling shocked and numb. The discussions surrounding death, what happens after you die, family relationships and sickness are present constantly throughout the story. It felt strangely haunting in the sense that, even after the physical absence of a character, their presence could still be felt through a different character’s thoughts and dialogue.

❝Every day you are closer to your death. You are half dead already. Where does your identity come from?❞

Reading this book was, in a way, a wake up call. It made me realise the importance of being free. To have the opportunity to be able to even think freely, is a gift. Despite the tragedy, violence and suffering in this story, I loved the softer moments with the family -the descriptions on food preparation, the children being excited about seeing their family after a long day and also, the relationship the lead character, Sunja, shared with her sister-in-law, Kyunghee. This story was just so carefully crafted, it managed to teach you something new about a certain character in almost every chapter. If there is any book I’m grateful to have read this year, it would probably be this one.

Rain Must Fall by Nandita Basu

Originally published :Β 2021
Genre : Graphic Novel, LGBTQ+
Personal rating :Β 
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

Originally published :Β 2011
Genre : Historical Fiction, LGBTQ+
Personal rating :Β β˜…
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert

Originally published :Β 2019
Genre : Fiction, Romance
Personal rating :Β 
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman

Originally published :Β 2016
Genre : Young Adult, Fiction, LGBTQ+
Personal rating :Β 
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†

Loveless by Alice Oseman

Originally published :Β 2020
Genre : Young Adult, Fiction, LGBTQ+
Personal rating :Β 
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…Β½

There’s so much I want to say about these but I’ll save it for the wrap up. Fun fact though, this beautiful new cover for Loveless only recently came out! It was kind of around the time I’d started reading it and I loved watching Alice Oseman’s thought process with designing the cover during the…livestream I think? Or it might have been Instagram Stories. I doubt this edition will be available in India so soon but I still think it’s stunning.

Also, yes I’m very excited about Heartstopper the show too!! I know the new trailer came out (just as I was about to post this, I saw that it’s currently out!!) and it’s so very precious?! I’d first come across this series on Webtoon in 2019 I think? And I remember staying up late just because I didn’t want to stop. It’s just so amazing to see the characters come to life especially because they look almost identical to how they’re drawn in the comic? The little doodles in the trailer were so cute too, everything about the show is probably going to be way too cute to handle which is honestly the best thing that could happen this year so far.

If you have any thoughts on the books I’ve mentioned, you’re very welcome to share them! I’d love to know πŸ’—

As always, happy reading!

Much love,

Samiksha πŸ’Œ

3 thoughts on “april reading updates πŸ“–

  1. Oh wow your review on Pachinko πŸ₯Ί I’ve heard a lot about this book, but it has never really stood out to me as something I would read but you’ve changed my mind. It sounds amazing… The learning something new about the character every chapter and feeling the presence of characters who have gone. It sounds extraordinary. Thank you for your review and I am glad it was such a worthwhile read for you πŸ₯°
    A lot of other great books read too, yay! I am intrigued by the heartstopper show as well… I loved the doodles shown in the trailer 😍 glad you enjoyed Radio Silence and Loveless!!
    I hope you love the seven husbands of Evelyn Hugo. One of my faves πŸ˜πŸ’š

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re so sweet, thank you!! I’m really glad you thought so!!πŸ₯Ί I realise I didn’t add any trigger warnings there but it deals with some really serious things that are uncomfortable to read about so please be careful ❀(It made me ugly cry multiple times so it really is a lot) If it wasn’t for the audiobook I probably would have taken ages to finish it so maybe you could try it that way? Plus…I kind of really liked the narrator’s voice! I thought it fit really well and helped with the pronunciations of Korean and Japanese words because I know I would have probably mispronounced them in my head 🀭
    And yes!! I haven’t watched the show yet but I’ve been seeing little snippets everywhere and it looks so adorable πŸ₯°
    That makes me even more excited for the seven husbands of Evelyn Hugo!! Can’t wait πŸ’š hope you’re having a really nice reading month so far!!πŸ’πŸ’Œ

    Like

Leave a comment